Alien Arena Official Forums
GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - Printable Version

+- Alien Arena Official Forums (http://red.planetarena.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Community (http://red.planetarena.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (http://red.planetarena.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti (/showthread.php?tid=2170)



GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - animal - 11-09-2016

A friend upgraded his Gainward GTX 660 to an Asus GTX 1060 w/6 GB. I got his old 660 w/ 2GB and replaced my Asus GTX 550Ti. I had no performance gain whatsoever. Alien Arena frame rates went from 40 to 60 fps, while with the 550 I had 59-60 fps, not one frame less or more.. In movie playback, with the 660, I get horizontal "tearing" in fast scenes, while with the 550 it plays great and smooth. This was done using my old drivers and with the latest drivers. Any thoughts why this is happening? I'm running Debian Wheezy on a Core2 Quad 9550 and 8 gigs of ram.


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - [SiN]bAnfire - 11-09-2016

My guess is that it is because the GTX550TI is a better card in all meanings of the word.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/139860/gainward-gtx660-2048-121127

https://www.cnet.com/products/asus-engtx550-ti-dc-di-1gd5-graphics-card-gf-gtx-550-ti-1-gb-series/specs/


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - Dondo - 11-09-2016

I also have a GTX660 and usually play with 144 fps or 250 fps (no v-sync), no problem for the GTX660.
Did you disable v-sync? Are you using Gnome with composite?
Perhaps you can try another desktop environment e.g. Openbox.


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - DeathRay - 11-09-2016

Also, make sure your max fps is not capped at 60.


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - animal - 11-10-2016

(11-09-2016, 07:10 PM)Dondo Wrote: I also have a GTX660 and usually play with 144 fps or 250 fps (no v-sync), no problem for the GTX660.
Did you disable v-sync? Are you using Gnome with composite?
Perhaps you can try another desktop environment e.g. Openbox.
I get the same results whether v-sync is enabled or disabled. Both by the game and by nvidia-settings. I am using XFCE with the compositor disabled.

(11-09-2016, 07:44 PM)Irritant Wrote: Also, make sure your max fps is not capped at 60.
I have my max fps capped at 61. And never go under 59 fps with the 550. Is there any reason/advantage to not cap the max fps, since the monitor runs at 60Hz? Can a 60Hz monitor display more than 60 fps?


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - [SiN]bAnfire - 11-10-2016

Nope, it can't


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - Dondo - 11-10-2016

With V-Sync and clipping enabled in nvidia-settings you shouldn't have screen tearing.

nvidia-settings doesn't store your settings, after restart you have always v-sync enabled.

I use a script to start alien arena without v-sync, so my desktop have v-sync enabled and no tearing in video playback.
Code:
cd /home/USERNAME/SVN_FOLDER \
__GL_SYNC_TO_VBLANK=0 alienarena

I have some binds in my autoexec.cfg, so i can switch it ingame for testing.
Code:
alias fps0 "echo FPS 60;set cl_maxfps 60"
bind 6 fps0

alias fps1 "echo FPS 125;set cl_maxfps 125"
bind 7 fps1

alias fps2 "echo FPS 250;set cl_maxfps 250"
bind 8 fps2



RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - Max - 11-11-2016

Screen tearing can happen with vsync on, if you have a multi-GPU laptop (i.e. Intel+nVidia.) I don't know of any other situation where that could happen.

Your framerates seem quite low with either card though. One obvious thing to check is whether you're using Nouveau. Even if you installed the proprietary nVidia driver, your system might still be using Nouveau. Do you see the nVidia logo splash screen when your X server starts? What is the output of "lsmod | grep nv"?

If that lead doesn't go anywhere, try reducing your graphics settings, perhaps picking the "max performance" preset. What are your framerates then? They should be locked tight to your cap.

Great Vsync tip, Dondo!


RE: GTX 660 slower than a GTX 550Ti - animal - 11-11-2016

Seems like the 660 was a faulty card... I put it in my second pc and that pc doesn't POST any more. When I remove the card it won't even beep complaining that there is no graphics card connected. When I remove the RAM it beeps showing that there is no RAM installed. So I went and bought another (used) motherboard. I hooked it up, and got the same results!

The damned card cost me two motherboards! Looks like its time for a major upgrade.